An archaeological site of great historical interest, a few kilometers from Bagheria, the major site of Solunto, has recently become an Archaeological Park.
The ancient Solus was a thriving Phoenician commercial center, comparable in importance to Mothya and Palermo. Established in ancient times, it had its greatest splendor during the fourth century BC. Passing under the dominion of Carthage and later being conquered by the Romans around 250 BC. The remains and the urban structure of the center are visible today and date from this last phase.
The Archeological park of Solunto
The remains of Solunto are at the foot of Mount Catalfano, on the north-western coast of Sicily.
The first excavations were undertaken in the area in 1826, but studies still continue and plans for further unearthing and expansion of the area destined to occur.
The ancient city was presented in a fairly regular shape, of which the main artery was crossed by smaller streets that intersected at right angles, forming thus the classical shape of a chessboard. The remains of the floor are still visible, especially in the terracotta of the main street.
The most important buildings are still visible, the so-called house of Leda, the gymnasium, several civilian homes, and, given that the place was devoid of spring sources, a significant number of cisterns to collect rainwater remain as well.
The civilian homes arouse curiosity with the remains of paintings on the wall and the floors which are significantly adorned with mosaics.
Instead, parts of the stands and the stage of the theater are still visible.
Finally, the gymnasium, which still has standing columns with Ionic capitals and part of the entablature.